My rendezvous with God!

I woke abruptly from my deep sleep as a brilliant flash of light literally blinded me. Squinting my eyes in protest, I turned towards the ceiling of my bedroom cursing all the while.

“Hello my dear boy!” God beamed a million-watt smile.

“Huh? Could you please turn off your toothlights please? Its blinding me!” I pleaded.

“Oops . . . sorry my dear” God said and snapped his fingers. The lights glowing from his teeth went out in a flash.

I rubbed my eyes in wonder. I couldn’t believe that God was standing in front of me. . . well, rather . . . he was floating.

“Is it really you God?” I asked awestruck.

“Ofcourse my boy . . . Whom else were you expecting?” God shot back and adjusted his long hair full of cobwebs.

“Yuck!”

“What now?” He asked.

“Your hair . . . Its full of cobwebs! When is the last time you’ve had a bath God?” I probe.

“Huh . . . Its all your fault! You bathe me in milk once in a blue moon and then forget all about me! How am I expected to stay clean?” He questioned sadly.

“We didn’t know you needed to bath everyday! I thought you were well taken care of in heaven!”

“Well . . . as a matter of fact, we don’t have any shampoos or conditioners back there . . . all we have are an abundance of waterfalls . . . but, no soap! Humph!” God exclaimed.

“Yuck!” I ridiculed, holding my nose playfully.

“You are a naughty kid! I will ask my personal assistant Mr.Fate to keep a close watch on you. Wait and watch!” God teased.

“Am just naughty, but . . . you are evil God! Why do you create tsunamis, earthquakes and natural calamities and kill innocent people?” I shot back.

He sighed.

“It is with a heavy heart that I do it beta, sometimes you humans take relationships for granted. You understand the value of a person only after they pass away. Till the moment they are alive, they are treated like mere dogs. That’s why I create natural calamities. . . to make humans realize the value of love, care, affection and above all hope. Hope that the next generation would treat humans as humans and not as objects. They are my sons and daughters beta and I need to take them away to heaven with me. It hurts me like hell, but I still do it even though my heart aches.”

I nodded in silent contemplation.

I tried changing the topic. “How is it that you never grow old God? Do you use some anti-aging creams?”

God blushed a bright red. “Now . . . you make me shy! I have drunk the elixir of life potion you see! That’s the secret to my beauty” He winked his eyes in pride.

“Oh God! You are so vain!” I teased.

He let out a huge laugh and brushed my hair with His hand.

“So . . . Mr. Aditya, I heard your mom complaining that you aren’t concentrating on your studies at all! Is that so?” He asked.

“Huh? Aren’t you supposed to KNOW if I’m studying well or not instead of asking me?” I shot back, bemused.

God smiled sheepishly. “Well . . . the servers in heaven have crashed down for the past two days, so am not keeping track”

“Why is that?”

“It’s because of all of you . . . Look, you multiply and reproduce at the speed of light! We can’t keep adding fate lines into the server for every baby that is born. Even before we write one child’s destiny . . .you produce a hundred more!” He sighed.

“That’s because we love families and kids God . . .” I argued. “Don’t you have a family?”

“Am an orphan Aditya . . . I have no parents. That’s why I love the world being filled with happy families and kids. It gives me happiness.” He said.

“Oh . . . Are you a bachelor too then?”

God grinned sheepishly. “Guilty as charged!”

“You must lead a boring life!”

“Well . . . you can’t have everything in life!”

“But . . . aren’t you God Himself? I mean, you can do ANYTHING you want to!”

God-s-creations-god-the-creator-10507897-1280-800

He smiled. “Let’s just say I haven’t found the right woman in heaven as yet!”

I rolled my eyes. “I thought heaven was like . . . well, heaven!”

God laughed. “Heaven is on earth my dear boy”

“On earth?”

“Yes . . . This was heaven once upon a time . . . but, now its turning into hell.”

“Earth is heaven?” I ask again in amazement.

“Yes it is Aditya . . . Look at all the trees, the waterfalls, the snow capped mountains, the flowers, the rainbows, the oceans, the stars, the rain . . . everything is heavenly isn’t it?”

I gape my mouth in wonder. “But . . .but . . . we don’t even realize that we are living in heaven?”

God smiled sadly. “Humans are caught up with individual fantasies, ego, jealousy, mistrust, deceit, treachery, lies and hate that you don’t have time to understand that you are living in heaven”

I nodded in silent contemplation.

“So, back to the question I asked you . . . Why aren’t you studying well?” He questioned.

“God . . . There are so many things I need to do . . . Watch cricket matches and serials on TV, speak with my huge group of friends, go to parties, coffee shops, play games on Xbox, chat on FB, eat, play, sleep . . . ” I rattled on.

“FB?”

“Facebook, God!” I shook my head disbelieving. “Don’t tell me you don’t know that!”

“What does it do?” He asked.

“Well . . .its a platform where you can catch up with all your friends and chat and share photos and videos!”

God beamed. “Will you create one for me too then?”

I laughed. “Aren’t you just like a cute little boy? Sure . . .I will create a profile for you God!”

He extended His arms towards mine. “Friends?” he asked.

“Friends!” I exclaimed and shook His hands. A jolt of electricity seemed to rush through my veins.

“Ask me any wish Aditya . . . I will grant it to you”

I thought long and hard. Any wish? Wow . . . I could ask for the fastest car, the biggest house, the prettiest girl! Anything!

“Give me a world without corruption, poverty, illiteracy and misdeeds and a world full of love and happiness God”

God looked at me with pride. “Its in your hands Aditya”

“Mine?”

“Yes . . . Yours and the billions of other humans in this world.” He continued.

My face fell. “That’s impossible God!” I said.

“Nothing is impossible Aditya . . . I have given each and every human being the power to change the world!”

“But . . . ?”

“No ifs and no buts! Just promise me that you will not indulge in any of the misdeeds that you know of. Change should begin with you and spread to the world Aditya” He pressed on.

“I will change, but . . . the people? They won’t!”

“Why won’t they Aditya? Nobody was born a bad person. It was the circumstances which made them bad. Believe in the magic of change, believe in the magic of love and tomorrow the earth will turn into heaven again.”

I nodded my head. I needed to hear this.

“Promise me that you will concentrate on your studies and do India proud! And follow your dreams come hail or shine, I have created problems only because I trust you to break them. Problems help you grow stronger. It gives you courage. Spread love and happiness to the world. Share with the underprivileged. Make them change. Make them see a better future . . . for themselves . . . for their families . . . for their kids . . . for their future generations. You have the power. You can create heaven on earth. Will you promise me that Aditya?”

My eyes were wide open in awe. “Yes, I will God . . . I will!”

“Deal?”

I laughed.

“Deal!” I exclaim with pride.

He kissed my forehead. “That’s my friend!” He said.

Just as He was preparing to teleport himself back to heaven, I asked Him a question.

“God . . . Why don’t you come to earth more often? We need you here. They said you were omnipresent, aren’t you?”

He smiled a divine smile. “Am always around you Aditya . . . Everywhere” He said.

“Everywhere?”

“Yes . . . everywhere!” He smiled back.

“I don’t see you anywhere!” I remark.

“Well . . . what do you think are the powers of God?” He asked.

“Hmmm . . . I guess you can do whatever you want and create anything you wish . . . ”

“Create human beings too?” He probed.

“Ya . . . I guess you can do that” I say.

“And love unconditionally?” He asked again.

“I guess so . . . Ya!”

“Don’t you know of anyone else who can do that?”

It struck me like a bolt of lightning.

“My mother?” I gape.

He smiled.

Mom_Loves_me_by_garang76

“Not only your mother . . . but, all the mothers in the world.” He said.

“The women too?”

“Well . . . they would become mothers one day!” He said with a wink.

‘Wow’Β I thought to myself.

“Hard to believe?” He asked.

I shook my head.

“I’ve been around you God every day and I don’t even know it!”

He laughed. “Now you know!” He said.

“But . . . aren’t you supposed to be a male?”

“That’s your notion Aditya . . . I can take any form. Infact, I take the form of women more because they are the epitome of love.”

“That’s why half the world is filled with females?”

“Yes . . . They are all manifestations of Me”

“And . . . knowing this, we ill-treat them, misbehave and harass and rape them?” I ask in shock.

“Humans don’t understand my value Aditya . . . They treat me as objects.”

“I won’t allow it God!” I exclaimed.

“Huh?”

“I won’t allow people to mistreat women from now on!”

He smiled. “Thats my boy!”

“I will make sure the world understands that women are the messengers of love and the manifestation of God Himself! That’s my promise”

He smiled. “Thank you Aditya . . . I hope one day . . . the world will change and learn to respect women. And that day . . . ”

” . . . The world will turn into heaven again!” I proclaim.

“YES!” He beamed.

“So you will grant my wish?” I asked Him.

“Will you uphold your promise?” He asked back.

“I will!” I said.

“Then . . . I will too!” He said.

I smiled. He smiled back.

And with a flash, He was gone.

“Wake up Adi! Its time for your college!” my mom screamed into my ear.

“Huh??” I wake up with a start. Was it a dream after all?

“Here . . . I’ve prepared coffee!” my mom said, handing me a cup. “And today I have prepared your favorite breakfast!”Β she said and kissed my forehead. A jolt of electricity seemed to rush through my veins.

I hugged her tightly. “I love you ma!” I said.

She hugged me back. I felt a drop of her tear fall on me. “I love you too Adi!” she said.

Tears brimmed my eyes as the only messenger of my rendezvous with God.

9 thoughts on “My rendezvous with God!

  1. Wow ! yet another wonderful post from you Vishnu πŸ™‚ The message was eloquently delivered ! ‘A world without corruption, poverty, illiteracy and misdeeds and a world full of love and happiness God’ – is what everyone dreams of πŸ™‚ And yes the change is within us πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Sush, πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it. Yes, I believe that heaven is on earth, and that women are manifestations of God. Fingers crossed for a world without corruption, poverty, illiteracy, and misdeeds. It’s not far away, I believe. πŸ™‚

  2. Yet another beautiful post with underlined messages. Love the rendezvous with God. After reading your post, I feel like I have one everyday! πŸ™‚
    Wonderful read πŸ™‚

      • Lol!! Will do..I’m sure He must be all sticky and smelly with those litres of milk downed on him all these years..Instead of shampoo, shikakai would be a much more natural n bette option – what say? πŸ™‚
        PS – I meant, I feel like I already have a rendezvous with Him everyday! Your post made me realize that! πŸ™‚

        • Awww…forgive my peanut size brain for failing to decipher your comment at the first go! My post made you realize that? Thanks! So many times when am around my mom . . . I feel like God is infront of me. Women have been my greatest inspirations. πŸ™‚
          And, yes…I second your opinion..Shikakai would be best for Him. πŸ˜€ And, an anti-cobweb version would be better πŸ˜‰

          • Awww..I feel your brain is way more than a peanut-sized..c’mon don’t underestimate yourself! AND..You’ve got a PAGE TO YOURSELF with followers!! Whom are you kidding!??
            And great to know, (rather flattered) that women happen to “inspire” you..That’s quite interesting πŸ™‚ And talk about ‘moms’ in particular..No words to describe absolutely..
            Done deal..Will ensure this shikakai is pure, anti-cobweb, in the least! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

