A walk along a lonely road . . .

(This poem is basically an experimental genre of broken words and thoughts)

From the shadows abound,

Emerges a beautiful swan,

A man in hand,

A kid in tow.

I know her, I cry,

She was mine.

Once upon a time.

The memories faint,

of a beautiful past.

The love, still burning strong

In my heart’s pyre.

I cling on, desperate

to our little moments, together.

Erased forever

From her fickle heart.

I stand alone.

Desolate.

Lonely.

Deprived of love, my life’s worth.

You walk by, aloof

Short breaths, quick steps,

Eyes on things unglanced awhile,

The flowers wither, dead in my arms,

Just like your love.

Just like you.

I step on the flowers,

Kill it with my feet,

I walk by, tears streak past,

My heart shuts down, locked

I hear your voice,

Oh, it kills me alive,

I curse you for your no-cure love.

You call out my name

And I turn back,

Smiles anew on my heart’s lips,

Your kid looks up to you smiling,

You smile back at him.

I smile back at you.

You go on your way,

A man in hand,

A kid in tow.

I retrace my steps,

Craddling the dead flowers in my hand,

Nursing them back to life,

Just like your love.

Just like you.

4 thoughts on “A walk along a lonely road . . .

  1. Such an emotional write! What do you think is more heart wrenching, a scenario where the woman you love who once loved you has conveniently forgotten you or where in she still loves you but fate will never bring you together? I personally believe the latter would kill me all over again. Great job. God bless!!!

What do you think?

