My first diary entry!

19th January, 2013, 1:00 am. Past Midnight.

Dear diary,

The entire city seems to be sleeping at this unearthly hour and there is nobody to keep me company. My parents and my sister hit the sack an hour back . . . and, the great Mr.ME is stuck up all by himself. Only the lights of the living room is on, and there is an eerie beam of light from the laptop screen. Am rocking myself on the swing and I constantly keep looking around in fear as I type the day’s entry into my diary. Of all the resolutions I decided to keep up with, writing a diary in the middle of the night scares the shit out of me!

The rain is falling incessantly onto the window panes. The sounds it makes are creepy and gives me jitters. It scares me like hell. I close my eyes, take a deep breath and open them again. I jump out of my skin as I suddenly see a shadow of a man in the window opposite me. Am sweating now . . . Fear engulfs me completely. I live on the third floor of my apartment, there is no chance of a man being outside my window. But then . . . What if its a ghost? I ask myself and gape my mouth in horror. My hands are shaking as I type. Its better I go to sleep, I warn myself. Just then, I see a figure out of the corner of my eye. It was a swift movement. Like a little girl in a white gown just walking past. I stop rocking my swing. Sweat trickles down my face. My insides are churning. I need to take a second look just to make sure. Don’t look! something warns me.

scary

I turn my head slowly towards my left, with my heart pounding in my mouth. Nobody there! Whew!

Just as I let out a sigh of relief, the shrill ring of the telephone fills the air. It cut through my soul like a death-knell. In the dead silence of the night, the sound was magnified ten thousand times. I was shaking all over. My arms and knees turned into jelly. It rang once more . . . Then again, and again. I felt a dull pain in my chest. My hands were quivering wildly as I reached out to pick up the receiver. “Hello?” I whisper.

Dead silence.

I couldn’t take it anymore. My eyes were blood-shot. I made to replace the receiver back. And then . . . I heard it. A faint voice. But, definitely a voice. It was coming from the phone. I was shaking from head to toe as I placed the receiver on my ear again. “Hello?” I squeaked.

Nobody spoke.

I heard bells tolling in the distance. A few dogs howled. The curtains swayed in the breeze. The rain fell unremitting.

Shaking and sweating all over, I replace the receiver down on its perch and take a few unsure steps ahead.

WHAM!

The plates on the dinner table came crashing down. My heart burst into a million pieces. I collapsed onto the floor, crying. I felt a knot around my neck slowly strangulating me and draining every inch of life remaining out of my soul. I placed my hands around my neck to try relieve the pressure. I was gasping for air, for oxygen. My entire body had gone numb. I couldn’t move. I opened my mouth to scream but, no sound came out. I was shaking from head to toe with fear. I felt ghosts, apparitions and walking corpses around me.  My eyes were wide open and brimming with tears.

I don’t want to die! I prayed to nobody in particular.

A huge rat scurried across the floor towards me. I cowered in fright.

It stopped dead in its tracks as soon as it saw me. Tears were flowing down my cheeks and I felt pee in my pants.

It squeaked and scurried towards me further, frightening me even more. I bawled like a cry baby.

The rat let out a squeak of laughter at my plight, winked at me(Yes, winked at me! Can you imagine that? That rat has some nerve!) and disappeared into the darkness.

I let out a huge sigh of relief. I clambered to my feet hurriedly, reached my laptop, banged the lid shut, scampered towards my bedroom and cowered under my bedsheet.

Who said writing a diary entry was fun? It’s really the world’s most scariest job, isn’t it?! 😉

What do you think?

