To be or not to be!

“Am bored of you Vishnu!” she said.

I looked at her with bewildered. “huh?”

Maya gave me a weak smile.

“You are just round and fat, why can’t you have a great six pack like everyone else!” she cribbed.

I just hid my laughter in a bout of coughs.

“Ok sweetheart, from now on I’ll hit the gym and make myself chiseled and hot. Give me five months!” I say.

“You always keep saying that” she moaned. “Atleast this time, you need to keep your promise ok?”

“Sure darling, I will” I promised and kissed her lightly on her forehead.

* * *

I dedicated the next six months completely to making myself fit.

Pain was my only companion as I strived and pushed myself to get those six pack abs that my wife hoped for.

I missed my kids and they missed me playing with them every evening.

“Come home papa…you don’t need to go to the gym. We wanna play and be with you in the evenings” they argued.

Silent hugs were my only answer to those glassy eyes filled with love for their father.

Maya was happy and proud of my chiseled body.

“I love you loads Vishnu” she said.

I smiled. We kissed.

* * *

dilemma

One year later, Maya and I were together in the beach.

Am bored of you Vishnu!” she said.

I looked at her with bewildered. “huh?”

Maya gave me a weak smile. “You have only a six pack like everyone else! I hate to even hug you now. Its like hugging some rugged tyre. When you were round and fat, yo were nice to lean on and hug. I need my humpty dumpty Vishnu back!” she cribbed.

I just hid my laughter in a bout of coughs. “Ok sweetheart, from now on I’ll not hit the gym and make myself round and fat. Give me five months!” I say.

“You always keep saying that” she moaned. “Atleast this time, you need to keep your promise ok?”

“Sure darling, I will” I promised and kissed her lightly on her forehead.

Women!! Don’t they all drive us mad? 😉

What do you think?

