Whirl….

Whirl…
by Shree Vishnu Vardhan

So, finally, my mom’s coming over to visit me. I was so excited. It’s been a long while. But, she hadn’t always been happy with my decision anyway. She used to cry for hours on end just to calm herself down. But, when greener pastures beckon, one must grab the opportunity with both hands. I myself didn’t regret the decision. This place is pure heaven! And the workplace is so serene and tranquil, that I fell in love with it the moment I entered.
“Hi mom… How are you? Long time no see!!”
“You still haven’t changed, have you Mr. Arun?”
“Mom, I’m so happy that you’ve come. You won’t go back, won’t you? I missed you a lot.”
“No dear I won’t be going back. I’ve informed dad. He said that he’ll also be here in a month or two, maybe even less. It all depends.”
“Thank goodness. I was beginning to wonder whether I would ever get to see you again.”
“You’ll forever remain mama’s boy. Oh! When are you going to grow up, mister? I missed you a lot, you know…” mom’s tears spoke.
We embraced. It was a strange feeling. A bit awkward, to be precise.

********

Of course, it was my mom who had started it all. Looking back, I could guess the fight was rather silly but it led to me making the most important decision of my life.
“Mom, this is important for me. I always wanted to go to the U.S. I don’t care for anyone else.”
“Not even your parents?”
Now, this was asking for trouble. Of course, she knew that I loved her. This was emotional blackmail.
“What the hell do you think, huh? Just because you are my parents, it doesn’t mean you can play around with my life. I’ve grown big and I can handle things on my own…”
“Beta, do understand. America is a dirty country, full of vices. I can’t let my only son serve prostitutes.”
“Oh… cut the crap out. I know better. It’s really surprising that you don’t have faith in your only son.”
“That’s the problem. You’re my only son. Had I had two of them, I’d have gladly sent you to the US…”
“Mom, please mom. I promise you, when I come back….”
“….You’ll bring along with you an American girl, huh? I’ve heard enough. No is my answer. That is final.”
“Why on earth should I listen to you? Don’t you dare interfere in my life….”
“ARUN!!!!”
“….I’m not your puppet! Oh please, I don’t give a damn to your thoughts. Go to hell!”
“…ARUN!!!”
“I’m off. I had enough. I’ll just take the passport and go…” I turn to the table.
“Is this what you’re talking about?” questioned dad, menacingly holding up the small-rectangular book in the air.
“Dad, no…please dad…no, please…” I pleaded, guessing what he was up to.
“There it goes…”
I watched in horror as he chucked the book into the toilet and pressed the flush. Even as water flowed out and created a whirlpool with the book as the epicenter, I was sucked into my own whirlpool of emotions and plunged headlong into a deep abyss. Of life itself.

********

Of course, it was my son who had started it all. Looking back, I could guess the fight was rather silly but it led to me making the most important decision of my life.
“Mom, this is important for me. I always wanted to go to the U.S. I don’t care for anyone else.”
Now, this was asking for trouble. Of course, I knew that he loved me. I tried emotional blackmail.
“Not even your parents?”
“What the hell do you think, huh? Just because you are my parents, it doesn’t mean you can play around with my life. I’ve grown big and I can handle things on my own…”
“Beta, you see, I wouldn’t like it if you started to behave as the Americans do. You’re too young. Live in a joint family. Enjoy being with your parents and your friends here. You won’t even have anyone to look after you there.”
“Why on earth should I listen to you? Don’t you dare interfere in my life….”
“ARUN!!!!”
“….I’m not your puppet. Oh please, I don’t give a damn to your thoughts. Go to hell!”
“…ARUN!!!”
“I’m off. I had enough. I’ll just take the passport and go…” he turned to the table.
“Is this what you’re talking about?” questioned my husband, menacingly holding up the small-rectangular book in the air.
“Dad, no…please dad…no, please…” he pleaded, guessing what he was up to.
“There it goes…”
I watched in horror as he chucked the book into the toilet and pressed the flush. Even as water flowed out and created a whirlpool with the book as the epicenter, I was sucked into my own whirlpool of emotions and plunged headlong into a deep abyss. Of life itself.

********

The view from atop the world was quite breathtaking. Even as I looked down, I could see ant-people, roads running for miles, cars and trucks lined up randomly, buildings in all it’s splendor and exorbitant lights illuminating the entire city. I, of course, wouldn’t let up my dream that easily. I was obsessed with success and the US and I was determined to achieve it or die in the process. I was always captivated by the people. By the beggar on the street, the policeman at the corner, the vendor on the road and by life and its beauty. I had started to descent now. Even as the road below drew closer and closer and grew bigger and bigger, I had the sudden urge to go back again, to my mom, but by then it was too late.

********

The divorce case made me drained mentally and emotionally but not financially. Of course, I do love my husband a lot but I couldn’t live with the injustice that he meted out to my son. Our son. We could have solved the issue simply by losing just a few drops of sweat and tears, but to flush the issue out was absolutely unforgivable. That was ugly. Inappropriate. He’s our only son for God’s sake. But, he seemed to have realized his mistake. He was apologetic the last time I visited him. He was ill and hence I had had a doctor to tend to him. I was diagnosed with cancer and given a time limit too but I had lost all interest. I was just going through the motions of living out the rest of my life.

********
So, finally, I was going to visit him. I was so excited. It’s been a long while. But, he hadn’t always been happy with me anyway. He used to brood for hours on end just to calm himself down. But, when greener pastures beckon, one must grab the opportunity with both hands. I myself did respect the decision. This place is pure heaven! And the place is so serene and tranquil, that I fell in love with it the moment I entered.
“Hi mom… How are you? Long time no see!!”
“You still haven’t changed, have you Mr. Arun?”
“Mom, I’m so happy that you’ve come. You won’t go back, won’t you? I missed you a lot.”
“No dear I won’t be going back. I’ve informed dad. He said that he’ll also be here in a month or two, maybe even less. It all depends.”
“Thank goodness. I was beginning to wonder whether I would ever get to see you again.”
“You’ll forever remain mama’s boy. Oh! When are you going to grow up, mister? I missed you a lot, you know…” I said, tears flowing down my transparent cheek. I wiped them with my gaseous hands.
We embraced. It was a strange feeling. A bit awkward, to be precise.

~~~~~~The end~~~~~~~

What do you think?

