Life and its intricacies…

Seminar on life

Introduction:
Since the seminar was an activity cum speech I thought that it would be better if I could try to reproduce the dialogues I spoke so that we could get the feel.
Subject:
Hey guys! Let’s start off this seminar with an activity!!
Point your index finger out and repeat after me!! When I say where the ceiling is? You need to point to the ceiling and say there! Where’s the floor? Point to the floor and say there!! Come on!! Everybody after me!
Where’s the ceiling? “THERE…!”
Where’s the floor? “THERE…!”
Where’s the door?
Where’s the window?
Where’s the future?
“Everywhere… “
Some blank faces!!
The answer to that is you need to point to yourselves!
Have the courage to know that YOU are the future!
Have the courage to believe in yourself!
Have the courage to know that each and every one sitting in this room have the future in their hands and they can make or break it!
The future just doesn’t happen!
We need to create it!
Coz we own it!

ImageChef.com - Custom comment codes for MySpace, Hi5, Friendster and more
Let’s move forward!
Pointing to someone…
“What’s your age? “
“18…”
“Ten years ago, did things turn out the way you wanted it to be? Did things turn out the way it should be? “
“….no….”
“Five years ago….? “
“ … No… “
“Three years ago? “
“No…”
“Last year? “
“Definitely no…”
“This moment? “
“No…”
Things never did turn out the way it should be…
“Five years from now, will things turn out the way you want it to be? “
“..Maybe…”
“All the things?….”
“No…”
“Ten years from now…?”
“No…”
“Thirty years from now will things turn out the way it should be?”
“No…”
“WHEN YOU DIE, WILL THINGS TURN OUT THE WAY IT SHOULD BE?”
“F**kin hell no… “
From the time you’re born, till the time you die, things will never turn out the way it should be!!
LIFE IS HOPELESS!!!
Consider this, you’re playing a cricket match and you need 50 runs off the last over! You know for sure you’re gonna lose! That will take all the pressure off you, won’t it?
“Yeah…”
Will you play without fear; will you play without any pressure? Will you enjoy playing the game?
“Yeah… “
That’s what I want you to get!
When you know you’re gonna lose in the race of life, play freely!
Play fully, give it your all
And then give some more!!!
How many of you out here have stage fear?
Slowly hands begin to rise! More than half!!
“Ok… I don’t know what stage fear is!! Please explain the sensation to me!!”
“You get butterflies in your stomach, you get nervous, you can’t speak, your hands start to shiver… “
That’s what is stage fear?
“Yeah… “
Is that so? Then even I have stage fear!!
Blank faces….
Yeah… how many of you think that I committed grammatical errors while speakin?
Some hands rise up…
Even as I’m speaking to you I’m nervous and my hands are sweating! Do you think I have stage fear then?
“No…”
Then what is stage fear?
STAGE FEAR DOESN’T EXIST!
It is something which we create as an excuse to not bein brave!
Stand even if it means to stand alone!
Move forward even when no one follows!
How many people come from the past and say I’m not good enough! I don’t belong! I suck!
When you flunked in your exams… I’m not good enough!
When you failed in something… I don’t belong! I suck!!
You know what’s stopping you from moving forward and hitting your dreams?
It’s you!
The only thing that’s stopping you is you!!!
You know what you need to do with these considerations?
I write on the board…
I don’t belong! I suck! I’m not good enough!
I take a step back, draw back my hand and then BANG!
I slam the board!
That’s what you need to do!!
There are two ways of running a race…
Looking forwards towards the finish line and running!
There’s also another way!
Looking backwards and running (imitating)!
Why don’t racers run that way?
Surely they won’t know where they’re running to!!
You know what the funny part is (laughing a bit along with the audience)…
THAT’S WHAT WE HAVE BEEN DOIN IN THE RACE OF LIFE!
Pin drop silence…
Every time we run our race, the past comes out in front of us and shields us from our powerful future!
You move forward, you move backwards, you move forwards, you move backwards…
WE’VE BEEN STAGNATIN IN OUR F**KIN LIVES!
You know what you need to do?
(I pick up a water bottle…. place it on the stage…)
Whenever you run and the past comes in front of you, catch hold of the past, and thrust it into the bottle….
Catch hold… thrust it in…
Catch hold… thrust it in…
The bottle is getting filled up… quarter filled… half filled… 3/4ths…
You know what you need to do with the past now?
Pin drop silence…
I take a deep breath and…
Kick the bottle across the stage!!!!
That’s what you need to do!
I’ll finish by doing the activity once more! Can we?
“YES!!!!!!!!!!! “
Where’s the ceiling?
Where’s the floor?
Where’s the door?
Where’s the window?
Where’s the future?
Pointing to themselves “HERE…..!!!!!!!!!”
Result:
Though I never want to be pessimistic if I could help it, some hard truths need to be told flat in the face! Considering the overwhelming response I proudly declare my seminar as a success!!

What do you think?

